How did fatherhood/motherhood change your photography?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Bhupinder2002, Dec 11, 2011.

1. Bhupinder2002

Bhupinder2002 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Hi friends
    I started photography as a 18 years old boy when I entered the Med school and obvious it was all about film and nothing digital. I used to shoot selectively , print selectively and keep selectively .I bought my first digital camera in 1998 and it was a sony P&S . Till 2005 I was quite casual with photography though I had started using DSLR .FAst forward year 2005 - my daughter entered our lives and things changed considerably ..I started shooting more and more pics, more lenses were bought and sold , more camera bodies and result is I have around 40-50K shots of my daughter alone leave aside other pics , and she is only 6 year old. For me fatherhood played a major role to learn and try different cameras, lenses and diff exposures , lights .It encouraged me to learn and experiment and it became a serious hobby . I became more confident and shooting became more exciting and fun after her birth .
    So I am wondering how many casual photographers turned into serious ones when they became dads?Or how fatherhood affected ur photography?

PS- this doesn't apply on pro photographers who earn their bread and butter through photography
  2. RT_Panther

RT_Panther Mu-43 Legend

May 4, 2011
    Made me buy a lot of expensive gear.....:smile:
    (Also, let's not forget the moms here) :smile:
    • Like Like x 1
  3. zpierce

zpierce Super Moderator

Sep 26, 2010
    Minneapolis, MN
    Easy answer here, it went from nil to an obsessive hobby overnight. :)
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Bhupinder2002

mums included now
  5. Empireme

Empireme Mu-43 Regular

Aug 25, 2011
    LA, CA
    My daughter's the sole reason I got into photography. And im so glad I did. I love learning and becoming better....
  6. manju69

manju69 Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 1, 2011
    Stroud, UK