Hot pixel issue - E-PL5 JPEG only

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Ccasey, Nov 1, 2013.

1. Ccasey

Ccasey Mu-43 Regular

Jul 29, 2011
    Austin, TX
    Chris
    Hi,

I'm fairly new to m4/3 and very new to Olympus cameras. I ordered a refurb E-PL5 and noticed a single red pixel in the middle of some of my shots from the first day. It wasn't in every shot, but it was present in more than just one image. These are not high ISO images - the crops below were taken from a shot @ ISO 320. Oddly, the red pixel appears only in the JPEG file - the corresponding RAW file does not have the same issue:

crop from JPEG (I believe I was still shooting with the Natural profile):
    [​IMG]

same crop from unprocessed RAW file (LR 4.4 export):
    [​IMG]

I did see mention of "Pixel Mapping" in a search, but I'm most interested/concerned about why I'm seeing this only in the JPEG and not the RAW file. I would've thought that Pixel Mapping would affect the RAW data. After reading here (http://www.olympusamerica.com/crm/oneoffpages/ask_oly/crm_e_ask_oly_03_09.asp), I'm not sure it's the same thing, anyway, because my aberration is neither white nor black.

Has anyone run into this before? As I tend to shoot RAW it's not really a big deal, and even with a JPEG it's easy to fix.

Thanks in advance,
    Chris

2. madmaxmedia

madmaxmedia Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 20, 2010
    Lightroom may be automatically removing the hot pixel from your RAW files- that is, the red pixel may actually be in the RAW file.

I would just do the pixel mapping, which will probably remove it altogether regardless of format.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Ccasey

Ccasey Mu-43 Regular

Jul 29, 2011
    Austin, TX
    Chris
    Thanks for the reply - it seems odd that it would be stored in the RAW data and -not- corrected in the JPEG from the camera, but it does seem like it wouldn't hurt to do the mapping.

I'll reply back if it continues after the mapping.

-Chris

4. Replytoken

Replytoken Mu-43 Hall of Famer