1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Hi, I'm a Canon-convert.

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by CanonConvert, Nov 22, 2012.

1. CanonConvert

CanonConvert Mu-43 Regular

Nov 22, 2012
    As above, I'm a semi-pro photographer, using 5d2 with a full suite of lenses from UWA to telephotos and primes.

With the recent release of E-PL5 and E-M5, I'm convinced that I won't be missing out much if I make the jump. However, there are a few things I want to clarify before making the switch. Hope you guys can help me out!

1a. How many stops of stabilization difference is there between the 5-axis and 2-axis found on both cams? I know it depends on how you 'shake' the camera, but in general usage, how much do you actually benefit from the 5-axis on E-M5?

e.g. ability to handhold 1/8s on 90mm equivalent vs 1/25s?

1b. I don't really fancy using the EVF on small cams (despite the fact that i'm so accustomed to peaking through the VF on my dslr), so other than that.. what other factor can justify me to get the E-M5 over the e-pl5?

2. how does spot metering work on both cameras? Basically, I want to know if I can set it such that the metering is based on the small AF area that I touched. If this can be done, then i can do away with AE lock / shoot-and-recompose!

3. what is the widest and largest-aperture AF prime i can get on those cameras? the widest i saw was 7.5mm f3.5 Samyang iirc, but it's sadly manual.

4. Since m4/3 cams use electronic shutters, does it mean that shutter count isn't as important as compared to DSLRs anymore? I understand that the other components might wear out over time, but it should be more durable given all others constant?

the only thing that's stopping me from getting it now is that the lens market for m4/3 is not mature yet. things like the workhorse 12-35 and 35-100 just came out not long ago.. and it costs a bomb! (p.s. i usually get 2nd hand, 3rd party substitutes for a fraction of the price).