Hi from Perth

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by lefty, Aug 31, 2012.

1. lefty

lefty Mu-43 Regular

hi
    I'm a newbie to the world of photography. I come from a world of compact cameras set to auto. In April this year I asked a friend who is a photo buff what camera I should get to bring on my 2 month USA trip. He said there was this new camera from Olympus that was compact but rumoured to have serious power. I had no idea what he meant but I bought this OMD EM5 sight unseen as I only had 3 days before I left. As recommended I got the 12-50mm lens also. By luck Olympus Australia had a promo of a free MMF3

After 2 months of playing with it I realised I was like a teenager driving a Ferrari - its abilities far outweighed mine. So when I came back I did more research, went on a lens buying spree and now joined up here hoping to learn to be worthy of such a great camera and use it out of auto mode...

I have been going a bit nuts on ebay and have collected a 17mm m.zuiko, 45mm m.zuiko, 70-300 zuiko , 35mm zuiko macro, 45-150mm zuiko and just yesterday an OM20 with a 50mm for $40 delivered. I have apparently scored a nice legacy 50mm, a newer gen one that looks as good as new.Now I just need an adapter.

Anyway, I'll probably be lurking more than posting.

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 1
  2. KH74

KH74 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 11, 2012
    Western Australia
    Hi and welcome. I am also from Perth. Got my OM-D E-M5 in June. It's a great camera.

3. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011
    SoCal
    Welcome to the forum.

Good Luck and Good Shooting,
    Gary

4. tubedriver

tubedriver Mu-43 Regular

Mar 30, 2012
    Perth, Western Australia
    Shaun
    Hi Lefty,

Welcome to our site. Also from Perth.

5. Paul Amyes

Paul Amyes Mu-43 Regular

Dec 27, 2011
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Great another sand groper. Welcome to the club.

6. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Bob