Hi, from Denver, Colorado

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by awatahurm, Jul 10, 2011.

1. awatahurm

awatahurm Mu-43 Regular

Jul 10, 2011
    Hi, everybody. I’m a complete beginner — unless you want to count “Canon Power Shot A1000” shot at full Auto mode.
    My goal is to bring back beautiful photos from my trips to Japan. (It’s a beautiful country, so I just want to do it justice.)
    I don’t believe that any camera can make you a good photographer. But the Olympus PEN cameras have captured my imagination, and this is motivating me to understand the art of photography.
    Specifically, I want to get good at shooting people on the street, architecture and fall colors.
    My gear is E-PL2 with the 14-42 lens, VF-2 viewfinder, Pentax 20mm/ f 1.7 lens, Olympus 40-150mm f 4.0-5.6, and Photoshop.

This is a big price jump from my trusty little “Power Shot”, so I want to make an equally big jump in the quality of my photos.
    Please feel free to offer suggestions. My next trip is in November. I hope this gives me enough time to master the basics.

PS. Even though I recently bought the E-PL2, I soooo want the E-P3. And I love this commercial:

[ame=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8K_MdzZGeI&feature=related]YouTube - ‪E-P3 CM OLYMPUS PEN‬‏[/ame]

It says, “Yesterday’s me... Today’s me... Tomorrow’s me...”
    “I am changing everyday. But, the real me is unchanging throughout.”
    “Changeless things. Things that change.”
    “PEN, the third generation. Olympus.”
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Alanroseman

Alanroseman Super Moderator Emeritus

Dec 21, 2010
    New England
    Welcome to the forum

Welcome aboard awatahurm.

Nice to have you with us. I think you'll be very very happy with your new PEN, it's a great piece of kit.

We look forward to seeing your images, and answering your questions. This is a friendly place, so go ahead and ask away!

Cheers from New England, Alan

PS. Nice commercial, I hadn't seen it.
  3. zpuskas

zpuskas Mu-43 Veteran