Hi everyone!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by tryphon, Feb 20, 2012.

1. tryphon

tryphon New to Mu-43

Feb 20, 2012
    I am an Italian who has been living in Florida for twenty years: I have been a keen photographer for nearly fifty years, using a number of film cameras (mainly Pentax and Nikon, including a mint SP!) and now digital, including two Lumic micro 4/3 (GF1 and GF2).
    I used to restore anc collect classic cameras and the reason for choosing micro 4/3 as a system is the possibility of using some of my old, classic lenses (Takumars, Nikkors and RF Contax). I look forward to the discussions on this fine Forum! Thanks for your welcome!
  2. nueces snapper

nueces snapper Mu-43 All-Pro

Look forward to your contributions. Sounds like you will have a lot to add for the 'adapted lens' folks. I was steering clear of all that until I started to want more reach. I am toying with the idea of using large fast old manual focus telephotos on my m4/3 cameras. But still need to know more. I'm worried about focusing with my old eyes. Do you have any experience along this line? :smile:
  3. tryphon

tryphon New to Mu-43

Feb 20, 2012
    Thanks! Not yet, but I intend to give my old lenses a good workout. I plan on using a tripod and I hope proper focusing is not too hard to achieve. I'll let you guys know!
  4. CarlB

CarlB Mu-43 Veteran

For the manual focus lenses, DEFINITELY the VF-2 viewfinder.

For the telephotos, Oly should be offering more choice toward manual-focus assist. 5X - 10X is way too much on top of 300mm or such.

If you're looking for a fun challenge, the small mirror lenses are a blast with m43: just amazing reach for a very small overall size. The trick is getting good focus however, because of the very thin depth of field at such focal lengths.
  5. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010