Helping friend decide on a budget prime

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Desert_B, Aug 1, 2013.

1. Desert_B

Desert_B Mu-43 Regular

Jul 8, 2013
    Minnesota, U.S.A.
    I am continuing to help my friend prepare for her baby's birth, camera wise, even as I am brand new to m4/3 myself. She got a G5 with 14-42 and 45-150; a pretty good price, so she is happy with that.

With a tight budget, if she were to invest in an additional lens right now, the Sigma 19 and Sigma 30 seem like the only options.

The 19 seems like a versatile, everyday focal length. However, I'm wondering if she might find the angle of view too wide (also, since the kit lens already covers focal lengths starting at 14, I'm not sure if the Sigma 19/2.8 is fast enough to give a whole lot of advantage over the kit).

Having 2.8 at 30mm seems like a nice option, where she could get some shallower DOF and a fairly flattering focal length for portraits. That being said, 2.8 isn't super fast and she might be better off saving up for a faster prime.

Thoughts?

2. monk3y

monk3y Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 14, 2013
    in The Cloud...
    Steven
    If you want shallower DOF and good for portrait lens I think the Olympus 45mm f/1.8 is the best bang for the buck at the moment IMHO.

3. With_Eyes_Unclouded

With_Eyes_Unclouded Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 17, 2012
    Vassilios
    :thumbup:

She should save up and go for the 45mm; a used one wouldn't cost that much more than a new Sigma. I have all three lenses, and, though they are all great value for money (and great performance overall), I'd say the 45mm is a must have for any :43: user.

4. wlewisiii

wlewisiii Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 16, 2011
    Hayward, WI
    William Barnett-Lewis