1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Help with sensible prime choices

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by BigTam, Apr 3, 2015.

1. BigTam

BigTam Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 19, 2012
    Dortmund, Germany
    Ron
    A little background first: I'm a casual amateur. I have the two slow Panasonic zooms (12-32 and 35-100) for when I'm with family and don't have time to change lenses or choose a location. Perfectly happy with the pair.

As far as focal lengths go, I seem to regard about 15-20 as 'normal' for me, with a slight preference for wider. I've tried many m43 primes in various combinations, and have just added the Panasonic 15mm to my Olympus 25mm and Sigma 60mm. I use the 15mm a lot, as I like the FOV, and the 60 is great for head and shoulders portraits.

Since the 15mm, I use the 25 very rarely. I prefer to take 2 steps forward and use the 15. So I am considering selling both the 25 and the 60 for an Olympus 45. I used to have the 45 and it's fine for the head and shoulders shots I like.

Any suggestions or recommendations? What about alternate 42-45 lenses?

2. agentlossing

agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing
    Hmm. If you like wider lenses, do you find the 25mm to be too wide for the headshots you like? Getting the 45mm instead of the 25mm and 60mm seems like a compromise to me. One that has size and weight (and # of lenses) on its side, to be sure, but still...

3. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    tam

you know my photography... most of it now is the 17 and the 75... go on treat yourself and get the 75 :)

you wont regret it

K

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. DynaSport

DynaSport Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 5, 2013
    Dan