1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Help with OM lens Adapter

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by sebs_color, Jan 24, 2014.

1. sebs_color

sebs_color Mu-43 Regular

Jan 5, 2014
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Sebastian
    hey guys, i was hoping to get some help here. im pretty new to photography in general, but i am looking in to getting an Olympus OM lens. i have a micro 4/3 camera (e-pm2), so as you guys know i need an adapter. the adapter i found on ebay says this:

Although the lens will fit physically,automatic diaphragm,auto-focusing,or any other function will not operate correctly while using this adapter.
    In this case "Stop-down mode"will need to be used when metering since the lens doesn't have the ability to have its apeture controlled by camera body.You can shoot with manual mode or apeture priority mode

Does anyone know if i will be able to do this?

thanks for the help!

2. verbatimium

verbatimium Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 17, 2013
    Toronto, Ontario
    Martin
    What they are saying is that with old Olympus OM lenses, they are fully manual with no electronic contacts. So when you adapt one of these lenses to your camera, you will need to manually set the desired aperture on the lens, and manually focus the lens (there will not be autofocus). In aperture priority mode, the camera will still meter the amount of light, so the camera will set the correct shutter speed for a properly exposed picture. I didn't see the link to the specific adapter, but any Olympus OM to m4/3 adapter should work fine.

• Like Like x 1
  3. sebs_color

sebs_color Mu-43 Regular

Jan 5, 2014
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Sebastian
    Thank you! I knew it would be manual, I just wasn't sure how the camera would accept it. Thank you for your help!

4. peter124

peter124 Mu-43 Regular