Help with Landscape picture taking?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by C130RN, Jun 23, 2012.

1. C130RN

C130RN New to Mu-43

Jun 23, 2012
    North Carolina
    Hello and thanks for checking this post out.
    I was at the beach and took my brand new epl3 with us.

I was pleased with most all of the pictures. The main question I have is how to eliminate the haze on the top of the trees when shooting at sunrise or sunset.

I am hoping that this might be a setting I have overlooked or something I need to do in the future. I am a novice to the photography world and tried different settings to include sunset and landscape modes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Here is a sample of what I am speaking of.

Attached Files:

2. MajorMagee

MajorMagee Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 24, 2011
    Dayton, OH
    Are you using a lens hood?
  3. oldsweng

oldsweng Mu-43 Regular

Apr 21, 2011
    Which camera are you using?
  4. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    Is that the sun in the upper right corner?
  5. M4/3

M4/3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 24, 2011
    Doesn't look normal. You could try doing a Reset (full) of camera settings to see if the issue goes away.
  6. zammer

zammer Mu-43 Regular

Jun 9, 2012
    Smudge on the lens?
  7. acercanto

acercanto Mu-43 Regular

Apr 15, 2011
    SW VA, USA
    Without knowing the details, I would say a combination of fog (out of your control), UV (UV filter will cut through that), direct sunlight (a lens hood could help, or sometimes just your hand, carefully out of frame) would cut down on the effect you're getting.

Hope that helps,
  8. Repp

Repp Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 27, 2011
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Out of curiosity, would a polarizer make the colors in the sky richer and help cut the haze? I remember reading somewhere that the newer ones also acted like a UV filter...
  9. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia