1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Help with indoor pics!

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by jayhawk92, Jul 30, 2012.

1. jayhawk92

jayhawk92 Mu-43 Rookie

Jun 24, 2012
    Hi all, so my wife and I decided on the G3 w/ kit lens to upgrade from a P&S. We got it in and were snapping some pictures of our 6 month old niece indoors only to discover that many were coming out blurry. Now I know that the kit lens is not even close to a low light lens, but before I tell my wife that we need to go spend $350+ on a good low-light lens I want to make sure there aren't some settings that I need to try first. As a newbie, I have it on iAuto+. If there is simply nothing I can do, what do you recommend? I know the 20mm is loved here, but I want to double this as our camcorder and I've read that it's not great for video??

2. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay
    Blurry photos in low light generally happen because your shutter speed is too slow to capture the action without motion blur. The problem is you can't just increase your shutter speed to fix it, because faster shutter speed also means light reaching the sensor for a shorter period and you'll get underexposed photos in low light.

To get around this, you have a few options:

1) Increase your ISO sensitivity so the sensor is more sensitive to light
    2) Use a large aperture lens, so more light is allowed in
    3) Add light (flash, lamps, natural light)