1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Help with denoising?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by flamingfish, Oct 28, 2014.

1. flamingfish

flamingfish Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 16, 2012
    Emily
    I have a bunch of travel photos that I was forced to shoot at high ISOs. I'm a noob at Lightroom, and would appreciate any tips on how to use the noise reduction function effectively. I know where the slider is, and I know how to push it from one side to the other, but that's about it. I have several LR books, but they tend to tell you how to use every function but not how to use them all well, so that the image comes out looking good. (In particular, I find it hard to know when to stop.) I'm a bit crippled by working on a 13" MacBook screen, which makes it hard to judge by eye (and my eye is still very untrained).

I browsed through the high ISO image thread and found a lot of mentions of DxO Pro. When I get back to my home computer, I'll download the free version of DxO Pro. I have no experience at all with DxO Pro, so any tips on making most effective use of its NR would be much appreciated.

If there's another inexpensive program that you think does a better job of noise reduction, feel free to recommend it.

Many thanks!

2. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    In Lightroom make sure you have the main image and the little preview window in the sharpening/noise reduction panel both set to 100% or even 200% for noise reduction. I set the main image to 100% and the preview image to 200%. Hold down the Option key while moving the slider and both images will be in monochrome. As you increase noise reduction you will start to see the image look "smoother". Basically I increase the setting until it just starts to look smooth, or even pull back a hair from that point. If you keep increasing the setting too far things end up looking unnaturally smooth and you lose detail.