Help with bird identification... (Grebeman or others?)

Discussion in 'Nature' started by tbhv55, May 23, 2012.

1. tbhv55

tbhv55 Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 26, 2010
    Devon
    I snapped this picture of a bird at Slapton Ley in Devon recently, but have been unable to identify it satisfactorily from our "Idiot's Guide"(!) to British Birds, so I wondered whether Grebeman (as the local expert at Slapton) - or any other knowledgeable person here - would be kind enough to identify it?

(Note: It wasn't taken on my m43 kit, so I'm not sure whether this is Ok... if it isn't, then mods please delete the thread).
    Many thanks...
    Tim.

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 1
  2. chasm

chasm Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 2, 2010
    A reed bunting? not that I'm an expert...

3. tbhv55

tbhv55 Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 26, 2010
    Devon
    The reed bunting picture in our reference book doesn't look like the bird that I saw - however, sometimes the book pictures aren't all that great, in my experience. Thanks for the suggestion anyway.:thumbup:

I'm still interested to know if anyone has any other thoughts on this - thanks...

4. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011
    SoCal
    It appears to be a juvenile, many/most birds will display slightly different plumage as a youngster than an adult.

G

5. grebeman

grebeman Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 13, 2010
    South Brent, south Devon (UK)
    Barrie
    Hi Tim,

What you have photographed is an adult Reed Warbler.

Barrie

6. tbhv55

tbhv55 Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 26, 2010
    Devon
    Barrie,
    Many thanks... as I suspected, the picture (it was a drawing, rather than a photograph) in my reference book is not too accurate.

Thanks also, to the others who replied.

The reed warbler's song was a delight to hear, but does it also have a sharp - almost explosive - call of alarm? I heard such a sound coming from the reed beds, but was unable to see whether it was the same bird making it.