Help! What to use for Live Music Event?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by MichaelJC, May 30, 2012.

1. MichaelJC

MichaelJC Mu-43 Regular

Still awaiting my E-M5 but I've been invited to an album launch party tonight. This kind of thing is way out of my photography comfort zone, but I'd like to try to get some good shots.

Here are my camera/lens options:

1. Olympus E-620 with Sigma 30/1.4. A bit big and bulky but I get the fast aperture and AF. The downside is that I've not used it much so I'm not that familiar with it's quality and I've heard the AF is not so reliable especially in low light.

2. Olympus E-620 with Hexanon 40/1.8 MF. I modded this lens myself and there's just something about the images it produces that I love. MUCH smaller than the Siggy.

3. Panasonic GF3 with 14/2.5 and Sigma 30/2.8. I'm still learning the camera but I think I can find my way around the settings I need. Much smaller package than the above. Fast reliable AF. But are the lenses fast enough and IQ of the GF3 good enough? The Oly has IBS which could be a factor.
  2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    A small, compact DSLR with two small primes, and a really compact Micro Four-Thirds camera with two extra small primes. Why not bring them all?

I would mount the GF-3 with the Lumix 14mm f/2.5 and the E-620 with the Hexanon 40mm f/1.8. That will allow you to switch between a wider and a longer view with two cameras at hand and mounted, then if you want you can switch either camera to a 30mm Sigma depending on which other lens you're not using as much.
  3. MichaelJC

MichaelJC Mu-43 Regular