1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Help required finding finding a 1:1 Macro lens

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by DrLazer, Mar 23, 2011.

1. DrLazer

DrLazer Mu-43 Regular

Mar 23, 2011
    Sheffield, UK
    Hi all,

This is my first post. I'm a software engineer from Sheffield UK, I am mainly interested in Macro. Please have a blast through my Flickr, feel free to add me as a friend, I spend a lot of time on that site ... bit addicted really.
    Flickr: Craig.Taylor's Photostream

I am trying to find a Macro lens for use on my G10, I have quite specific requirements like some kind of awkward jackass. I am my own worst enemy sometimes.

I want a dedicated Macro lens, not a zoom macro or a tele lens with a macro switch. I intend to use diopters to increase magnification so auto focus is not required. This pretty much throws AF out the window as those lenses tend to be more expensive. The lens must have a filter thread so I can add diopters / filters. The lens will need to have fixed aperture, or manual aperture control, as I will need to attach it to an adapter to get it to fit on m4/3. Ideally something above 80mm, although if there was a beauty that was 55mm I would consider it. The magnification the lens offers without extension tubes or adapters should be at least 1:1. The easiest mount for me would be M43 as I already own an adapter, but if a lens was on offer for cheap that required an additional adapter that would be cool.

If you know of any lens that is cheap and offers good image quality, please let me know. If you have one you want to sell to me that would just be perfection.

Thanks in advance :biggrin:

2. Nikon, Canon, and Vivitar/Kiron/Komine all made excellent 1:1 macro lenses in the 50-55mm and 90-105mm ranges. All manual focus and manual aperture.

• Like Like x 1
  3. DrLazer

DrLazer Mu-43 Regular

Mar 23, 2011
    Sheffield, UK
    awesome.
    have any links? any reviews or firther info?