1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Help printing

Discussion in 'Printing' started by Ares, Dec 1, 2013.

1. Ares

Ares Mu-43 Regular

Nov 13, 2013
    Hi I want to print the below picture, but not sure where to start... Have done some basic editing in lightroom (am a complete novice!) how big do you think I can print it whilst retaining the quality? Are there any uk based printers you would recommend to use?

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/jmyorston/11137029616/" title="Santa maria sunset by jmyorston, on Flickr">"800" height="600" alt="Santa maria sunset"></a>

2. peterpix

peterpix Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 8, 2010
    So. Maine
    Peter Randal
    Don't know what camera you have used, I regularly print to 16 x 20 with m43. Nice shot!

• Like Like x 1
  3. phl0wtography

phl0wtography Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 15, 2011
    I'd say 40x60cm.
    Correct exposure a tad brighter (maybe 0.33), because on my calibrated monitor it looks a bit dark, and printing will darken it more. Note, that a print requires lots of local PP instead of global one to net you satisfactory results.
    What I'd do to it in post for a print:
    - Apply a touch of clarity, and positive EC with a brush to the coloured water reflections. Maybe use the "iris enhance" preset on the water's brighter areas and adjust a little.
    - Apply clarity+contrast (maybe 20/10) on the lit parts of the buildings, and the church with a brush.
    - Crop the poles and that bit of a boat on the left, same for the ones at the bottom. They distract the eye.
    - Needs quite a bit of output sharpening. I'd say 100/0.9/25/0. It will show artefacts in 100% but you won't print at 1:1 anyway. I wouldn't apply noise reduction. A print "swallows" digital noise to a good degree, and what's left shouldn't be noticeable.

Keep in mind, that paper is not backlit, so in order to achieve the same brightness levels, and tonal levels it needs a lot of experimentation.