Help on E-PL2 and lenses

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by gravitie, Aug 28, 2011.

1. gravitie

gravitie New to Mu-43

Aug 26, 2011
    Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to photography.

I've got a new Olympus E-PL2 with 3 lenses included:
    40-150mm, 50mm f1.8, & Samyang 18-28mm f4-4.5

Could you give me a rough idea as to the pros and cons of each lens, and what type of photos they are good for?

I've tried the 50mm and found that it was quite 'zoomy', I have to stand back a lot to take a fairly well-framed shot. My main usage for the camera is to shoot everyday life, candid shots, portait, gigs and food shots, and a bit of travelling.

Should I sell some of my lenses and invest in another? I need advice! Will appreciate any input :)
  2. uscrx

uscrx Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 26, 2011
    Shasta Cascade
    Hi Gravitie,

Without going too much into details, Micro 4/3 sensor due to it's smaller size than the full frame (35mm film equivalence) converts focal length of your lens by two folds. This means your 50mm is in essence 100mm. I think when you said "zoomy" you meant "telephoto-yee."

So your 40-150mm is 80mm to 300mm. A telephoto zoom.

Your Samyang now... will probably provide the best focal length range for everyday life you wish to photograph.

I'm not new to photography but I'm new to MFT myself... but I actually like the stock 14-42mm and Oly 17mm lenses.
  3. CarlB

CarlB Mu-43 Veteran

The 40-150mm is your telephoto zoom, use that for capturing butterflies on flowers without chasing them off, peoples's expressions from afar, any part what you see that you'd like to make the entire picture about.

The 50mm f1.8 is your portrait lens. Generally, keep the aperture open (f1.8), stand far enough back to get the framing you want, and focus carefully on what you want shar. The rest will be somewhat to very out of focus. This can be a very pleasing way of keeping attention on your subject in an otherwise cluttered background.