Help needed to make my Panny GX1 raw file usable in Photoshop CS5

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by rossi46, Mar 6, 2012.

1. rossi46

rossi46 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 1, 2012
    Dear all,...

I am a total newbie with anything related to do with cameras, due to my understanding that RAW files gives huge data in editing, I got myself a Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom 3.4.1.

I had a very frustrating time to get it to read GX1 raw format.

I had downloaded the Adobe DNG converter version 6.6, which is supposed to support GX1 raw file, but not working.

The problem I am facing now is -
    when I use the Adobe DNG convertor to source for my raw RW2 files,....I see totally "nothing" in the folder even though there is raw files saved there.

Am I missing any steps there,....??

I really BEG if someone is really kind enough to baby feed me with step by step approach, I am a computer idiot / nearly illiterate.
    I had been trying to figure this thing out for nearly a month now without any success, been looking at internet, youtube,...consulting anyone I know....been searching while at home,...most of the time while at work....
    :frown::frown::frown:

P/S - I am so sorry to start my first new thread here in such a negative note....

2. With the DNG convertor, when I select the folder I want to convert from, none of the raw files will show up in the dialog box. It seems to be purely to select the folder location only. If you select the folder you want and then press "Convert", it should start converting all the raw files it can find in that folder. It will convert ALL of the compatible raw files in that folder, including making copies of any previously converted dng files if you have left any in there, so make sure the only raw files in the selected folder are the original rw2 files.

3. dhazeghi

dhazeghi Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 6, 2010
    San Jose, CA
    Dara
    You don't need DNG Converter if you're using the current versions of your software.