1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Help me select between OMD EM1 or EM5 Mk II - (Long Exposure concern)

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by darkchaos, Mar 21, 2016.

1. darkchaos

darkchaos New to Mu-43

Mar 21, 2016
    Hello all,

First of all, I'm by no means a pro, i'm just a hobbyist with some experience. Currently I own OMD EM5 (with full battery grip) + Voigtlander Nokton 25mm, Olympus m.Zuiko 9-18mm. I'm more into Landscapes, Night cityscapes, some candid/street photographing and long exposures(long exposure is important).
    I decided to upgrade to OMD EM1 or EM5 MK II mainly because of better ergonomics (specially with Voigtlander Nokton lenses EM1 is much much better). I recently found a good deal on EM1 and bought it suddenly. I really love this body, the feel and the positioning of control buttons. I really am in love with it. But even before buying it, i knew that it has this long known hot pixel problem with long exposures(without the dark frame). Even EM5 MK I, is way better than EM1 in that context.

Now I'm confused and in dilemma if I should sell both of these bodies and get EM5 MK II ?(mainly because of Long Exposure, it's an important part of my photography, and I don't want to loose 3,4 minutes till it takes dark frame in blue hours, Also i don't do too much post processing).
    Has there been any solutions found for the hot pixel problem?, If yes I'd definitely love to stay with EM1. Also I'm worried to which the EM5 MK II's ergonomics are closer to? I'd like to know your opinions, solutions and advises.

Thanks in advance.

ps: One thought was to stick with EM1 and EM5(for long Exposures), but then I'm not a pro, and i don't want to carry so many gear around. Having one which is capable of both is much better option. Would there be EM1 MK II ?

pps: I'm sorry for mistakes in English.

2. b_rubenstein

b_rubenstein Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 20, 2012
    Melbourne, FL