1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Help? I'm finally considering upgrading ....

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Eiron, May 12, 2018.

1. Eiron

Eiron Mu-43 Rookie

May 12, 2018
    Loveland, CO
    Greg
    Hi All, first time on the forum and first post. :) 

I've been using an E-PL2 for about 7 yrs and I'm thinking I should upgrade. When I got the camera my primary concerns were versatility, size, and price. Those are all current considerations as well, but a lot of my recent shooting has included indoor theater shots involving low light and dance movement, so I'm motivated to look for something newer with improved low light image capturing over what my E-PL2 offers.

With all of that in mind, I've been looking at either the E-PL8 or the E-M10ii. From what I've read online IS is improved in both models and they both use TruePic VII processing. The body-only prices are reasonably close, and I can justify the extra cost of the E-M10ii for its 5-axis IS and included EVF (that I haven't really missed over the past 7 yrs except on really sunny days). I did find this thread from 2016 and it seems to validate the OM-D body over the PEN body. I was wondering if people still felt the same way 1-1/2 yrs later?

I started out in photography using both an OM-1 and an OM-2, but the OM-D line looks considerably more cramped for hand space. Any thoughts on that? Nobody around me carries the PEN line for direct comparisons of size and controls layout. Also, are there any reliability issues that are present (or corrected?) with either camera? My biggest concern here is with the 5-axis IS.

Thanks!

2. retiredfromlife

retiredfromlife Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2016
    Sydney, Australia
    Welcome to the forum.