1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Help! first timer! Fujifilm x100 vs nex-5N vs Canon 600D

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by newbietophotos, Jan 26, 2012.

1. newbietophotos

newbietophotos New to Mu-43

Jan 26, 2012
    Hi, I could really use your advice. Im a complete beginner to the art of photography and I am very keen to get into it. Ive only owned a compact camera till now and want to get a camera I can take photography seriously with. I was thinking of buying either a Sony Nex-5N or Fujifilm x100 or a Canon 600D/T3I. What would you recommend? I would love to get involved with landscape and food photography but also to be able to take it while travelling. your advice would be appreciated.
    Cheers.

2. ripleys baby

ripleys baby Straw clutcher

Aug 10, 2011
    Pretty sure you may be in the wrong place here, as none of those cameras is a 4/3 camera .:smile:

But as all are a good bunch here, i suspect you will get help.
    Why no 4/3 cameras on that list ?:frown:

3. Iansky

Iansky Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 26, 2009
    The Cotswolds, UK
    You would be better off adressing this in the serious compacts forum that covers the X100 and other formats - this site is Mu4/3.

Here is the link:
    SeriousCompacts.com

4. newbietophotos

Jan 26, 2012
    sorry guys. I am also considering E-P3 or E-PL3 or Panasonic DMC-GX1, but all of these cameras seem to be in the not a simple P&S but not a DSLR either category. Any suggestions would be helpful. :)

5. nrowensby

nrowensby Mu-43 Regular

Jan 25, 2012
    Columbia, SC
    600D is deinitely a DSLR.... :wink:

6. demiro

demiro Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Nov 7, 2010
    Have you researched the basic specs and do you understand them? For example, the X100 is a fixed lens camera with one focal length (does not zoom). It is not what I would expect someone to choose as their first "serious" camera after shooting with point and shoots previously.