Help decisions? Oly 12mm or P7-14

tgrieger

Mu-43 Rookie
Real Name
Terry
I'm new to m43 and am trying to build a decent kit. If you could have either a Panasonic 7-14 or the Olympus 12prime, but not both, which would you prefer.
I'll use it predominantly for landscape and architecture on OM-D

Hingo

Mu-43 Regular
dont know the 7-14, I think its good, for architectural especially

The 12mm olympus is looks good, but the only thing thats bother me is that heavy distortion, which can be reduced but I think there will always be a sign of it.

Kiwi Paul

Mu-43 Top Veteran
I chose the 7-14, the IQ is fine and it has the versatility of a zoom. It might only be f4 but for UWA-WA that is enough, I don't really see the necessity of a 12mm lens needing to be f2, good for low light hand held stuff I guess but I've found the 7-14 to be fine for my requirements.

Paul

Mercurio

Mu-43 Veteran
I decided to buy the O 9-18 instead of the P 7-14 to be used with the O-MD simply because I can use filters and I wanted to avoid the issues of purple flaring that occur with this lens and camera, as have been discused in other threads. As I live in South America I haven't received it yet to give you my impressions but it seems to be pretty small, that is a plus for portability. I didn't considered the 12mm because I wanted to go wider.

dhazeghi

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Dara
I'm new to m43 and am trying to build a decent kit. If you could have either a Panasonic 7-14 or the Olympus 12prime, but not both, which would you prefer.
I'll use it predominantly for landscape and architecture on OM-D

If you've never used an ultrawide, I'd wait, or at least rent before you buy. It's not simply a matter of getting more in the frame - interesting composition requires careful layout. Landscapes and architecture do not automatically demand UWA lenses - they're one approach among many.