Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Boston Chris, Feb 20, 2011.

1. Boston Chris

Boston Chris Mu-43 Rookie

Feb 20, 2011
    Belmont, MA
    Hi from Boston. It's been a cold winter here on the east coast.
    I'm just starting to get really serious about photography.

Last year I graduated college with a communication degree in TV and Film Production, and working as an independent media producer, I've started doing more and more stills.
    I recently upgraded from a point and shoot camera to the Panasonic GH2 with 14-140mm kit lens. Also have a few Canon FD lens with adapter.

I use Aperture, Lightroom, Photoshop, Premiere Pro, After Effects, Final Cut Pro, and a whole bunch of other PC and MAC software. I have professional broadcast video equipment as well.
    As a media professional I hope to someday be considered a creative DP and I absolutely love working with video, and stills, creating color and depth whenever possible.

I am also exploring possible graduate studies and classes for photography. If anyone is interested I will post my flickr account that I setup this past week, and will be steadily unloading images there.
    I want to attempt every style of photography and specifically work on mastering the light with appropriate use of depth of field, bokeh, low light photography, HDR, unusual compositions etc.

I look forward to learning new things from all of you.
    Anyone else do photography around MA?
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Alanroseman

Alanroseman Super Moderator Emeritus

Dec 21, 2010
    New England
    Welcome aboard from a fellow New Englander.

I'm down the road from you in Rehoboth, Ma about 10 minutes from Providence, RI.

Nice to have you here, you'll enjoy the level of information available.

Cheers, Alan
  3. bilzmale

bilzmale Mu-43 All-Pro

Hello and welcome Chris - you picked the right camera for your interests.
  4. Luckypenguin

Luckypenguin .

Oct 9, 2010
    Brisbane, Australia