Hello :)

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by cmercer, Feb 2, 2011.

1. cmercer

cmercer Mu-43 Regular

Good morning!

My name is Chris and I am based in Lancaster, UK.

I recently purchased an Olympus EP1 which unfortunatly developed a hot cell. The chaps I purchased the camera couldn't replace it for another EP1 so I ended up with an EPL1. Admittedly I was dubious first although I genuinly love the little camera.

I am fairly new to photography although it is something I enjoy and I am keen to learn more about. I start a photography course next week and I can't wait! :biggrin:

Thanks, Chris
    • Like Like x 4
  2. Alanroseman

Alanroseman Super Moderator Emeritus

Dec 21, 2010
    New England
    Welcome aboard from snowy New England!
    • Like Like x 1
  3. pjohngren

pjohngren Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 15, 2010
    Hi Chris and welcome! People seem to love both their Olympus and Panasonic m4/3 cameras. I have both a GF1 and G1 and they are terrifc. I am an old Nikon user since film days, but these little wonders have captivted me - I'm a total convert. Am getting great pictures with both cameras.

Great on taking the photography course -I took a workshop in the Adirondack Mountains (USA) of upstate NY this summer and you always learn something. I used my G1 for the total time in the workshop and it worked out great. Everyone else had their big Canons and Nikons.

Best wishes.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Fiddler

Fiddler Mu-43 Veteran

Welcome Chris, and Hello from Edinburgh. Your E-PL1 is a great camera, and you'll be able to do a lot with it - it's very versatile. I have an E-P1, a G1, and a GF1. The DSLR and compacts don't get used much since I took up m4/3!

Enjoy your course :smile:

All the best,

5. Stephen Geis

Stephen Geis Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 13, 2010
    Charlotte, NC
    Welcome Chris. Hope you'll find this forum welcoming and that you'll soon start sharing your photos here!

6. bilzmale

bilzmale Mu-43 All-Pro