Hello :)

cmercer

Mu-43 Regular
Good morning!

My name is Chris and I am based in Lancaster, UK.

I recently purchased an Olympus EP1 which unfortunatly developed a hot cell. The chaps I purchased the camera couldn't replace it for another EP1 so I ended up with an EPL1. Admittedly I was dubious first although I genuinly love the little camera.

I am fairly new to photography although it is something I enjoy and I am keen to learn more about. I start a photography course next week and I can't wait! :biggrin:

Thanks, Chris

pjohngren

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Hi Chris and welcome! People seem to love both their Olympus and Panasonic m4/3 cameras. I have both a GF1 and G1 and they are terrifc. I am an old Nikon user since film days, but these little wonders have captivted me - I'm a total convert. Am getting great pictures with both cameras.

Great on taking the photography course -I took a workshop in the Adirondack Mountains (USA) of upstate NY this summer and you always learn something. I used my G1 for the total time in the workshop and it worked out great. Everyone else had their big Canons and Nikons.

Best wishes.
Peter

Fiddler

Mu-43 Veteran
Welcome Chris, and Hello from Edinburgh. Your E-PL1 is a great camera, and you'll be able to do a lot with it - it's very versatile. I have an E-P1, a G1, and a GF1. The DSLR and compacts don't get used much since I took up m4/3!

Enjoy your course :smile:

All the best,

Colin

bilzmale

Mu-43 All-Pro
Hello and welcome Chris. Did you or the shop try pixel mapping to turn off the hot pixel? It's in the menu of Oly's and I usually run it with a new camera to avoid future problems.

cmercer

Mu-43 Regular
Hi Chris and welcome! People seem to love both their Olympus and Panasonic m4/3 cameras. I have both a GF1 and G1 and they are terrifc. I am an old Nikon user since film days, but these little wonders have captivted me - I'm a total convert. Am getting great pictures with both cameras.