Hello.. :)

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by timothysoong, Aug 10, 2011.

1. timothysoong

timothysoong Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 10, 2011
    Taipei, Taiwan
    Hello there,

I'm new here.. And I'm new to cameras.. Been messing around with the settings and all with my newly bought Lumix GF2.. My first m43.. My previous cameras were all digital cam and I always use auto-mode. So I have no basic idea of how to use a camera manually.. If there's any guide/tips/tutorials anyone can tell me with the GF2. I'd be pleased, btw im using the 14mm lens.

Thanks in advance.

2. bilzmale

bilzmale Mu-43 All-Pro

Hello and welcome to the forum. Lots of info spread through this site and ask if you have a specific question.

3. timothysoong

Aug 10, 2011
    Taipei, Taiwan
    hmm okay.. Well, I've doing a lot of research for almost a week and fiddling around with the iso, aperture, shutter speed.. and somehow I got an idea what they do and all..

And I am thinking of getting a new lens which's being able to zoom.. No ideas about lenses, I'd like some recommendation.. I read through and pana 14-42 and 14-45 seems to be a good one to start with. But i'd still like to hear from y'all..

and secondly.. how do i go about using my gf2 to take b&w shots? which settings to alter?

Thanks again

4. Amin Sabet

Amin Sabet Administrator

Apr 10, 2009
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Yes, 14-42 and 14-45 are both good zoom lenses. The 14-45 is very slightly better, while the 14-42 should be easier to find at a low price if you're buying used.

As for changing to B&W, I don't remember how to do that. You'll get more help if you start a thread in the Panasonic Cameras forum with a title that indicates what you're looking for. Welcome to the site!

5. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.
    Gordon