Hello from Westchester, NY

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by LisaO, Mar 18, 2010.

1. LisaO

LisaO Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 18, 2010
    New York Metro Area
    Lisa
    Hi everybody. I just joined. I'm new to 4/3 but not to photography. I have been into photography for close to 40 years I started as a preteen. I just got a Lumix GF1 with the 20 1.7 and am looking forward to getting into photography again with it.

I also have Nikon and Leica kits along with lots of other photo gear and studio lighting. I used to do photography as a business but now it's mostly a hobby though some of my work involves teaching people digital photography principals.

I'm looking forward to participating here, reading posts and seeing everyone's work.
    One pet peeve is that I hate when people call a photograph a capture, I prefer, image, photo, picture, anything but capture which sounds to unartistic and mechanical.

• Like Like x 2
  2. texascbx

texascbx Mu-43 Veteran Charter Member

Dec 30, 2009
    Texas
    Hey Lisa, glad you found this place!:biggrin:

3. hodad66

hodad66 Mu-43 Top Veteran Charter Member

Jan 27, 2010
    Indialantic, Florida
  4. pete

pete Mu-43 Regular

Feb 26, 2010
    Phoenix, Az
    welcome...

I would never say that "C" word...

5. Herman

Herman Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 7, 2010
    The Netherlands
    Welcome Lisa, thanks for joining this wonderful forum.

6. Brian Mosley

Brian Mosley Administrator Emeritus Charter Member

Dec 15, 2009
    Hi Lisa, and welcome to the home of m4/3rds :friends:

You raise an interesting point about one word... and funnily enough I started to use 'capture' as an alternative to 'shot' when, on another forum someone complained that 'shot' implies that no thought or skill went into capturing the essence of a scene.