1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Hello from Tasmania!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Ted, Oct 10, 2014.

1. Ted

Ted Mu-43 Regular

Oct 10, 2014
    Tasmania, Australia
    Theo B
    Hey guys, thought it was time I migrated from the general tech forum I use for photography questions and join a real one. Mu-43 seemed to make the most sense! Rather than bombard you with questions here I'll save that for the other boards and give an introduction. I'm 26, live in Tasmania (little island below mainland Australia) and I'm a university student. As a kid my dad had a big old silver SLR that only ever came out on special occasions, and I was always super excited to see it sitting on it's tripod with the big lenses. Fast forward a few years and I got my own Ricoh automatic film camera which I loved, until getting into digital at school (film and development was very expensive for a kid!). I don't for the life of me remember what I shot on, but I remember two cameras and they both took floppy disks. One looked like a squashed shoe box with a viewfinder and the other was a big square thing with an LCD screen. Eventually I got my own Kodak point and shoot, it was 2 mega-pixels and awesome compared to what I'd used at school. It wrote to an SD card! I lost interest a bit after that and got really into audio production and recording as playing music became my primary interest, but in 2010 started dating a girl who lived for taking photos. She renewed my interest and in 2011 I bought her Canon 1000D off her when she upgraded to a 5DmkII. We split up almost six months ago now, but I've retained an interest and decided it was time for a new camera. The 1000D was by no means holding me back, I'm strictly at a beginner hobbyist level, but I did want something a bit smaller, nicer to use and with weather-sealing. End result was my purchasing an Olympus E-M5 with the weather-proof 12-50mm kit lens just yesterday! So far I love it