Hello from Sonoma Co. (Northern Calif.)

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by rplantz, Feb 13, 2011.

1. rplantz

rplantz New to Mu-43

Feb 13, 2011
    A friend just told me about this site. I've been trying several P&Ss in the $200 - $300 range for the past couple of years. Each disappoints me. I'm a retired engineer, and when I first read about m4/3, it really appealed to my engineering sensibilities.

I honestly don't think that photography will become a significant activity for me, but I like high quality photos. Basically, I expect that I will be doing P&S photography most of the time, but it would be nice to have the flexibility available. I tried an Olympus E-400 a couple of years ago, and it just seemed too bulky for me. The m4/3 seems like an ideal compromise between quality, flexibility, and bulk.

Right now I'm trying to decide between Panasonic and Olympus. I'm tending toward the Olympus. I admit that I'm slightly biased toward Olympus because of always being very happy with my very old Olympus Stylus. Yes, I realize that has nothing to do with today's technology but not all decisions are completely rational. :smile:

I'm also working through the feeling that these smaller cameras with fewer features should not cost as much as the entry-level DSLRs. Again, I realize this feeling is not completely rational. I recall buying a Porsche in 1962; my mother thought it was stupid to spend more money for a smaller car. :smile:
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Fiddler

Fiddler Mu-43 Veteran