Hello from Norcal/Socal

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Kevii, Dec 5, 2012.

1. Kevii

Kevii Mu-43 Rookie

Dec 5, 2012
    Irvine, Ca
    Kevin
    Hi guys, I'm a student looking to get into photography, I've never liked the bulkiness of the DSLRs and after finding out about mirrorless cameras have been looking for a good one to purchase! I used to shoot 35mm and 120mm film back in the day but that was only with fixed lens cameras and the cheap $20 holga haha.

I've decided to purchase a E-PM2 and 20mm F1.7 lens to mainly shoot at parties and low light or outdoors night time pictures. I was looking around and I'm not exactly sure on everything I need yet so help would be appreciated! (SD card yeah, Filters? Bag? etc.).

A big question is, whats the best place to purchase this camera? I think I want to avoid eBay, so I'm leaning towards Amazon or BHPhoto. I don't think there is much of a difference except at BH I can add a 40-150mm lens for $100 lol

Looking forward to learning about photography and having a great time with my new camera soon:2thumbs:

2. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Bob
    Welcome! B&H is a very reliable company with knowledgeable staff - if you follow the link here on the site it helps support our forum. Look around the various forums here - lots of info on bags and other accessories. :biggrin:

3. savvy

savvy Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 28, 2012
    SE Essex, UK
    Les
    Hi Kevii, Welcome :smile:

If you are going to use the 20mm f/1.7 mainly for parties and low light shooting, better brush up on your manual focus & zone focussing techniques.

Don't get me wrong, the 20mm stays on my OM-D 90% of the time, I love it, so sharp and great clarity. But, it is known to hunt for focus in very low light conditions, so you might as well know this up front.

Edit : The 40-150mm is a very underrated lens, and a useful zoom to add to your kit for that price, pretty sharp between 60-110mm.