Hello from Mitchell

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by Mitchell Zimmerman, Jun 19, 2010.

1. Mitchell Zimmerman

Mitchell Zimmerman New to Mu-43

Jun 8, 2010
    Palo Alto CA
    Hello, All,

I’ve been a Northern Californian for more than 40 years after growing up in the Northeast (and a little time in the South). Now I am a partly-retired intellectual property lawyer (copyright/internet/etc.), and I spend most of my time on writing and photography. My photography is mostly scenic shots or abstractions from nature (plus social events). (Samples: Picasa Web Albums - Mitchell Zimmerman - Portfolio One....)

I’ve had a Nikon D80 for several years and am finally grasping how to use it as more than a glorified (but very glorified!) point and shoot. Most of the time I carry the D80 around with its splendid 18-200 mm lens, but together they weigh 3 pounds. So my interest in the 4/3 format is mostly prompted by my desire for a second serious camera that I can carry around when I don’t want to deal with all that weight.

Since I also don’t want to spend a vast amount on a second camera at this point (but maybe I’ll be seduced into concluding that this format is appropriate for a primary camera!), I am choosing between the E-PL1, the GF1 and the G1. Having perused the forum, I have a feeling that my questions on which to choose are repetitiously considered, but here we go again:

The E-PL1 appears to be favored for its size and compactness; the Panasonics for faster auto focus and maybe better image quality. It’s hard for me to tell whether there’s any consensus on these seeming differences amongst those who have cameras from both manufacturers. Slow auto-focus would be a big concern for me, since I don't want to deal with shutter lag whatever its cause. Or is this not as big a deal as I’m imagining? I can’t figure out whether you can figure out whether the menu structures are better or worse without many hours on each camera which doesn’t seem feasible.