Hello from Milano, new to m43!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by 13Promet, Dec 11, 2011.

1. 13Promet

13Promet Mu-43 Regular

Dec 11, 2011
    Hi all,

my name is Alessandro and I'm 39 years old from Milano (Italy).
    I'm new to the m4/3 world, and by reading around the web it seemed to me that this is the most interesting forum about the subject, so I decided to sign up :smile:

Until a week ago I've been using a double set for my hobby: D300S when needing high speed, very high quality, relatively extreme lenses or shooting in dim light, and a Lumix LX-3 for general purpose and when high portability is critical.

Actually, I was very satisfied with the excellent LX-3, but since I had the last chance to sell it for a good price, I did.

So it came the time to find a substitute... a hard job! :rolleyes:
    My requirement for the smaller camera of the set is producing the highest possible image quality in a truly compact package, with decent direct hardware controls.

Therefore I was considering Fuji X10, Olympus XZ1, Canon 95, Panasonic GF1, GX1 and GF2.
    Of course not all of them in the same league as for sensors, but they are funcionally similar.
    Nex were excluded because of the lenses nearly the size of SLR ones and the lack of controls.
    The X100 would be great too, but priced well over my budget. Not to mention the Leica M9, of course :biggrin:

After weeks scanning the web for the best deals all over the world, passing by a shop 400 meters far from my home :biggrin: I've seen the GF2 offered in bundle with the 14mm pancake at only 50€ over the price of the lens alone, and I got it! :cool:
    It was not exactly what I was looking for (for the lack of direct controls), but close enough to my specs and the deal was quite good.
    Later on I will upgrade to a GX1 (which seems exactly what I'm looking for) after having used the GF2 for a couple of years (since it basically came for free because I'd get the 14mm anyway).