Hello from Indiana

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by travisennis, Jan 4, 2011.

1. travisennis

travisennis Mu-43 Regular

Dec 27, 2010
    Indiana
    Hello to all. I'm new to forum. Well, to be honest, I've been lurking since around Thanksgiving when I started researching for a new camera and finally decided on a GF-1 that I got with the 20mm pancake, but this is my first time posting. I haven't had a chance to really use the camera in anger yet, but it saw a good amount of use during the holidays for general snapshots and I've really enjoyed using it so far.

I don't have a lot eperience with photography. My first stint with it came about 6 or 7 years ago when I bought a film Canon Rebel that I enjoyed using but that I didn't use much as I just never seemed to carry it around with me. I then bought an Olympus Stylus with the fixed 35mm lens that was incredibly sharp and that I carried with me everywhere. Not long after that I bought a Yashica GSN that I loved. I took some pictures with that camera that I still like, which is saying something since I am a harsh critic of my own pictures.

However, I eventually fell away from the habit. I went back to grad school, got married, and had kids which resulted in a lack of time and money to devote to photography. Now five years later I'm taking up the habit again. The GF-1 seemed closest to my old Yashica. I think it is although there does seem to be something missing, but I'll leave that for another forum post.

• Like Like x 2
  2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus

Travisennis, congratulations on your GF1 and that 20mm lens - and most importantly for getting back into photography!

Looking forward to seeing some of your pictures very soon.:thumbup:

• Like Like x 1
  3. bilzmale

bilzmale Mu-43 All-Pro

Hello and welcome.

• Like Like x 1
  4. travisennis

Dec 27, 2010
    Indiana