1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Hello from Indiana

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by travisennis, Jan 4, 2011.

1. travisennis

travisennis Mu-43 Regular

Dec 27, 2010
    Indiana
    Hello to all. I'm new to forum. Well, to be honest, I've been lurking since around Thanksgiving when I started researching for a new camera and finally decided on a GF-1 that I got with the 20mm pancake, but this is my first time posting. I haven't had a chance to really use the camera in anger yet, but it saw a good amount of use during the holidays for general snapshots and I've really enjoyed using it so far.

I don't have a lot eperience with photography. My first stint with it came about 6 or 7 years ago when I bought a film Canon Rebel that I enjoyed using but that I didn't use much as I just never seemed to carry it around with me. I then bought an Olympus Stylus with the fixed 35mm lens that was incredibly sharp and that I carried with me everywhere. Not long after that I bought a Yashica GSN that I loved. I took some pictures with that camera that I still like, which is saying something since I am a harsh critic of my own pictures.

However, I eventually fell away from the habit. I went back to grad school, got married, and had kids which resulted in a lack of time and money to devote to photography. Now five years later I'm taking up the habit again. The GF-1 seemed closest to my old Yashica. I think it is although there does seem to be something missing, but I'll leave that for another forum post.

• Like Like x 2
  2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus

Travisennis, congratulations on your GF1 and that 20mm lens - and most importantly for getting back into photography!

Looking forward to seeing some of your pictures very soon.:thumbup:

• Like Like x 1