1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Hello from California

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by fjgordy, Jul 6, 2010.

1. fjgordy

fjgordy New to Mu-43

Jul 6, 2010
    Hello everyone
    I have just picked up a Pana G2 alone with a 20mm pancake. I have been shooting nikon for a long time currently with a D700.

I have been following the g1 since it came out. The size and weight is my primary reason that got the g2. There are things that the d700 does better but I think the g2 will be the camera that I will carry most of the time and on my back country trips.

I am waiting for more choices for the super wide angle choice. I wish the 7-14 would let me use grad filters. We will see.

I am still learning to use this camera and one thing I dont like is the Silkypix. I have been using Aperture2.XX but it wont read the RAW files from panasonic. I am wondering what the user use for post processing workflow are.

Anyways looking forward to learn a great deal here

Gordon

• Like Like x 2
  2. photoSmart42

photoSmart42 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 12, 2010
    San Diego, CA
    Hello, and welcome.

I do initial RAW processing in Adobe Camera Raw (ACR), then final processing in Photoshop. For special processing (focus stacking, pano stiching, etc) I may use a combination of other specialized software packages in conjunction with Photoshop. I'm looking for a good cataloging software - I haven't been able to crack Lightroom yet (I'm not smart enough to use it I think).

3. Brian Mosley

Brian Mosley Administrator Emeritus

Dec 15, 2009
    Hi Gordon, welcome and congratulations... it may be a while until the G2 raw files are widely supported - it's pretty new out.

Cheers

Brian

4. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus