Hello everyone! New (soon) to M43, excited to make the jump!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by afrat, Aug 21, 2013.

1. afrat

afrat Mu-43 Regular

Aug 21, 2013
    Los Angeles
    Hi everyone! I recently found this website and am blown away by the content the forum members provide. I was able to research everything I wanted to know about switching to M43. I am a professional photographer and have always left my camera at home when traveling because I am so bogged down my big, expensive gear all day long that I'm really turned off from the idea of taking pictures when I'm. I really hadn't looked into alternatives to full-frame DSLR's but boy am I glad I did. I am currently looking for a Panasonic G3 setup as I feel that's the perfect transition camera for me right now, and the price is right on the used bodies. I have a trip planned where I will be traveling around a few different national parks and plan to try out the Panasonic 14-45mm zoom lens while I'm out. If everything seems to work out for me, I'll start investing in more glass and jump to the GX7 later on down the road.

Thanks to everyone who contributes to make this site great!

2. Toddster

Toddster Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 7, 2013
    Florida
    Todd Cleaver
    Welcome aboard!

Keep an eye on the price of the G5 bodies and kits; not quite as cheep as the G3 but quite a steal for new equipment.

Todd

3. afrat

afrat Mu-43 Regular

Aug 21, 2013
    Los Angeles
    Thanks for the welcome!

I just checked Amazon and the G5 body goes for $300 new. I am estimating paying around $200 for a used G3 body. Do you think it's worth the $100 difference? The kit is with the 14-42mm, which I've read is not as great as the 14-45mm, and I can grab that on Craigslist, local, for only $100. So $400 for a G5 and 14-42mm, worth it?

4. agentlossing

agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing