1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Hei from Stavanger!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Stephan, Apr 21, 2010.

1. Stephan

Stephan Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 21, 2010
    Stavanger (Norway)
    Hi folks,

I've been silent reader of mu-43 for some weeks now, since I started to look for a new camera.

Compared to you lot here I'm a bloody amateur, but considering the friendly atmosphere around I'll probably won't get shot down immediately. :smile:

And here follows my lengthy introduction...

I'm German by origin, but have lived in Glasgow (Scotland) as a student for a year, and in the Netherlands for 8 years. And now in Norway. I've been taking pictures since the end of my school days, when I got a Canon EOS 1000n as a present from my parents for graduation (nice parents!). I used that one for about 10 years, and had loads of fun with it (especially during my stay in Glasgow), but the gearing failed sometimes around 2003, and that was that.

DSLR's used to be pretty expensive then, so instead I went to Ebay and bought two lots of pre-autofocus Minolta MC/MD equipment for next to nothing from people giving up film for digital. One X700, and one X500, together with loads of lenses. To my embarrassment I have to confess that I only really used the Tokina (28-85) and Sigma (80-200) zooms, as well as the 19mm Vivitar prime. Especially the Sigma was a joy to use as it is really sharp (good portrait lens, too!).

I also got myself a Minolta Dimage Xt. I really like that camera - for me it's the ideal representation of the possibilities of a digital P+S camera: it's really small, but still takes good pictures for an optic that size.

This is my legacy collection (excuses for bad image quality, first post, first image upload):

attachment.php?attachmentid=825&thumb=1.