1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

HDR with EP2

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by BobBill, Aug 30, 2012.

1. BobBill

BobBill Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 29, 2010
    MN USA
    Bob Hively-Johnson
    Am backing into this genre and wonder if any fellow Pen users or even GX1 users have had success with HDR and would not mind sharing advice with this old snapper? HDR "search" was fruitless.

2. peter124

peter124 Mu-43 Regular

I'm a total beginner at HDR, but I've had some success with test shots using picturenaut.

Picturenaut Overview

Peter

3. BobBill

BobBill Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 29, 2010
    MN USA
    Bob Hively-Johnson
    Peter, thanks for reply.

Now I learned something...thought most of the play was in camera...I use ancient but workable P-shop and DxO Filmpack, on rare occasions and seldom crop, but never thought to employ that way.

4. BobBill

BobBill Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 29, 2010
    MN USA
    Bob Hively-Johnson
    So, you take three or whatever pics, under, mid, over? Using spread to gain hue intensity etc? Or, do you edit later...?

5. peter124

peter124 Mu-43 Regular

Right, you bracket exposures, then feed the image files into picturenaut. The program aligns the shots, and does the HDR processing. It comes with default settings that work reasonably well, at least for a beginner like me.

You do need to read the instructions though!

• Like Like x 1
  6. BobBill

BobBill Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 29, 2010
    MN USA
    Bob Hively-Johnson
    Picturenaut is interesting...advantage over the standard Pshop? I know it is free, but does it really make HDR that easy? I was going to use DxO and combine the shots? Or same with the Adobe thingy.

7. rkelac

rkelac Mu-43 Regular

Feb 15, 2011