Have I bought the wrong camera? or Do you shoot kids with E-PL1?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by mushmorok, Mar 2, 2011.

1. mushmorok

mushmorok Mu-43 Regular

Jan 5, 2011
    Hi guys,

first of all I as many others am quite new to photography. I even kinda hated it, as my spouse always insists on taking pictures here and there and repeatedly taking shots until she gets the desired results. This changed last year when I decided to buy her a new camera (to replace the old P&S one) - not to complicated (read - DSLR), compact, but still producing good quality photos. This is how I entered the world of m43 cameras. In order to be able to understand the reviews I started reading for things like aperture, f-stops, crop size etc. (Things I'm still learning :)
    To make the long story short - I've decided on the E-PL1. So far so good. Did my spouse liked it? - initially yes, but this later turned into, I would say, pure "hate" and this is mainly due to the fact that she is constantly trying to take pictures of our toddler (16months old) indoors, which I think is one of the hardest conditions for taking photos with any camera. Of course she could use the built-in flash, but this does not produce results better the P&S.

So my question is can this camera handle this type of situations and with what lenses? I really started to like this camera and don't want to "throw it away". I've read allot and I'm still hoping that a Panasonic 20mm lenses will fix that "problem" to a good extent, but I'm not willing to cash out just to try them out.

If some of you have similar experience in these type of situations, please share - how do you handle it - do you use specific lenses, do you use flash or just use different camera?

10x

P.S. Of course I'm quite aware of the fact that a huge factor for the poor quality of the photos in these conditions is actually the photographer behind the camera :)

2. Fred49

Fred49 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 24, 2010
    FRance
    m4/3 an kids