GX7 /E-M1 or X-E2/X-E1

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by rjbxa, Nov 12, 2013.

1. rjbxa

rjbxa New to Mu-43

Nov 12, 2013
    Looking to buy a new camera and struggling to split the E-M1 and the X-E2 - it's very hard now that the X-E2 has faster focusing, I know it isn't as fast as the E-M1 but it's more in line with the GX1 from what I can gather.

I'll mostly be shooting family pics but would like the option of using it for more serious things and also a bit of flash-lit still life (small objects).

I have no experience of the E-M1 output, is it still the case of Fujis having the edge on IQ? Does anyone happen to have both? I'd be particularly interested in seeing portraits / family photos taken with both systems.

The DOF does attract me I have to be honest, as I do like to isolate subjects; but I also like to tinker with RAWs and I have heard Fujis are not so good for that. Video is also important and the 5 axis tempts me to the Olympus; though I do have a GX1 which the wife will have, not sure how that would compare.

If I could take the RAW compatibility and 5 axis from the E-M1, with the video from the GX7 and the form and IQ from the Fuji I think I'd be happy and this post wouldn't exist.

2. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.
    Gordon
    I don 't have an XE2. But I have an XE1 and an EM1. If the XE2 is as good as the GX1 it'll be smashed by the EM1. The EM1 is about as good as it gets in single AF, even compared to all but a few DSLRs. I really hope the XE2 is better than the GX1. That would be dissapointing.