GX7, Best video settings, post-production workflow, color grading

Discussion in 'Video Post-Production' started by delerdelarosa, Jul 8, 2014.

1. delerdelarosa

delerdelarosa New to Mu-43

Jun 18, 2014
    Montreal, Quebec
    Hi there!

There have been some good threads, touching on different things about the GX7 and video. I'm curious about a few things as I'm new to shooting video on the GX7. I'm not new to video but haven't done any video work for at least a few years.

I have a few questions for you folks. I'll try to do this as sequentially as possible.

Before shooting
    Right now I have my video settings on the GX7 set to:
    1/50th Shutter speed most of the time
    Variable ND filter
    Contrast: -5
    Sharpness: -2
    Saturation: -4
    Noise reduction: -2
    Format: 1080 60p MP4

I've found a few other tips here and there, mainly from other forum threads:

What I would like to know is are there any other settings you guys use that is key for you?

Post-production & Color Grading
    My NLE is Premiere & After Effects.

When I bring in my footage, it's quite flat. I've read a bunch of different tips such as using FilmConvert to color grade, use Premiere's Effects settings for Auto-Color, Contrast and Levels, etc. However, I find the blacks get squashed a lot and FilmConvert doesn't have a way of bringing out more detail in the blacks.

Is this because MP4's dynamic range sucks? If I were bringing in data from a nicer codec (like what comes out of Black Magic cams, Prores, RAW) would it help? Maybe I'm shooting too dark?

Lobbamobba's tutorials are pretty useful but I'm not quite getting (IMO) footage that's as nice.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. TonyZhang

TonyZhang Mu-43 Regular

Jul 8, 2014
    New Zealand