1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

GX7 AE/AF Lock button

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by aeromonte, Mar 17, 2014.

1. aeromonte

aeromonte New to Mu-43

Oct 10, 2013
    I'm a newbie to photography and the GX7 - so please bear with me..

Does anyone have the AE/AF lock button mastered and is willing to give better instructions than the full manual has for the GX7?? I'm confused..

For example: If I were to take a picture of a sunset in A mode (F4-5ish) with the14MM Panasonic and want to focus 1/3rd up from bottom - what is the best/easiest way to use spot metering and the AE lock button to meter the sky so the pic doesn't come out over/under exposed?

Any bit of help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

2. Levster

Levster Mu-43 Top Veteran

First off select Spot Metering from the Metering Mode menu.
    Second, your focal point is the position where the spot metering occurs. Move the camera so that the spot is on the sky (or wherever you want to meter) and then press and hold the AF/AE button.
    Third, recompose shot with the horizon positioned as you wish and the take the shot (whilst continuing to hold the AF/AE button).

For all of this to work you need to have selected "AE Lock" within the "AF/AE Lock" option within the Custom Menu.

3. aeromonte

aeromonte New to Mu-43

Oct 10, 2013
    Thanks for the fast reply! So you can't meter for the sky and then focus on the foreground (beach 1/3rd up from bottom of frame)? So basically where you spot meter is where you have to focus??

4. pcnyc

pcnyc Mu-43 Regular

Sep 15, 2010
    you can refocus if you use another button for auto focus or use manual focus. I use the half-press shutter for AF, so just hold the AEL button and recompose, half-press to focus, full press to take pic.

5. Levster

Levster Mu-43 Top Veteran