1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

GX1 - why do you need to use Exposure Compensation?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by rossi46, Mar 19, 2012.

1. rossi46

rossi46 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 1, 2012
    Hallo all,...

My preference is mostly to shoot in Aperture Priority, and maybe at low lights to freeze scenes at dinner and so on, I would use Shutter Priority.

As a newbie, I do not understand why there is a need for Exposure Compensation (but I do understand the need for Exposure bracketing)

Aperture Priority -
    Now what I do is set an Aperture, then look at my LCD screen to see level of exposure.
    If it is too bright or dark, I change either the Exposure (shutter speed) or ISO level.

1. Now my question is, what am I doing differently compared to using either +/ve or -/ve exposure compensation?
    What is the advantage of using Exposure Compensation in this scenario compared to how I adjust the exposure for each scene?

Shutter Priority -
    When I set shutter speed priority, I look at LCD screen and adjust the aperture and ISO level to get the correct brightness or exposure I see on the screen.

1. Now my question is, what am I doing differently compared to using either +/ve or -/ve exposure compensation?
    What is the advantage of using Exposure Compensation in this scenario compared to how I adjust the exposure for each scene?

Tricky Light and colour conditions -
    As I understand from reading articles, Exposure compensation is used in tricky conditions such as snow, where the whites will trick camera to think that it is overexposed, thus the camera reduces the exposure....resulting in darker and grey coloured snow.

I have never seen snow in my life....but assuming I am going to capture a scene with full of snow,....