GX1 on it's way!

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by limdoug, Sep 13, 2012.

1. limdoug

limdoug Mu-43 Regular

Sep 9, 2012
    Los Angeles
    I'm sooooo excited to be receiving my GX1 body (used very good from Amazon ~$316) in the next couple of days. I know photokina is right around the corner, but I wanted to get the order in before Amazon starts charging tax for CA customers. I've got a 14mm in hand and a oly 45mm on the way.

Anyhow, I wanted to say this is a great forum and I sure hope to be able to post some pictures some day.

I'm relatively new to the m 4/3 format and photography in general. Any quick newbie tips...besides get out there and shoot?

2. danska

danska Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2012
    Portland, OR
    Joe
    Welcome. It's an easy camera to get started with. I began the adventure into photography and this system back in May. Glad I started with the GX1. I'd highly recommend the EVF when you want to shell the money out for it. Helped my composition skills quite a bit.

I posted my settings here: https://www.mu-43.com/f43/gx1-best-camera-settings-tips-30716/

There is quite a bit of other info around the forum. Lots of people using the GX1 now.

• Like Like x 1
  3. rhoydotp

rhoydotp Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 5, 2012
    Toronto, Ont
    rpamparo
    congratulations! looking forward to seeing your photos soon :)

tip: buy more hard drive space, you will need it! LOL

4. danska

danska Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2012
    Portland, OR
    Joe
    Yeah that's a good tip. Shoot in RAW if you really want to take advantage of the camera. Get a decently fast memory card ~class 10. Frame guidelines and the level helps big time also. Shoot with those two lenses for a while and then pick up the Panasonic 20mm or 25mm for a normal lens and you'll have a great prime trio.

5. limdoug

limdoug Mu-43 Regular

Sep 9, 2012
    Los Angeles