GX1 / GF2~3?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by bobola, Jul 11, 2012.

1. bobola

bobola New to Mu-43

Jul 11, 2012
    I'm just getting into photography for fun..
    My dad was a professional photography back in the days, learn quite a bit from him.

Been playing around with a point and shoot most of the time and want to get something better.
    Was planning to get myself a entrylevel dslr, but found out about m43!!

Been looking at the GF2/3 and the GX1 due to their compact size.

I found :
    GF3 with the 14mm for around $400
    GX1 with the 14-42mm for around $550

Should I jump on the GX1 for $150 more?
    Or get the GF3/2 and save up $$ when I know my stuff better.
    (prehaps a better lens etc.?)

2. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    I just sold my GH2 and kept my GF2 because as much as I liked the GH2 (a terrific body and very comfortable) I fond that the compactness of the GF2 when paired up with nice primes was really a better fit for me. I like to have a camera with e all the time and I found myself more and more grabbing the GF2. I think the IQ is excellent and you can find them pretty cheap. I think mine was $200 for the body (new but open box).

The GX1 is a great camera and the IQ is better but the question I cam up against quite a lot was how much better. If you look at the output of a GX1, GH2, E-P3, GF2, GF3, G3 and E-P1 side by side I doubt you'd really see too much difference between them in practical terms. There is a difference between them but to my eyes it is not THAT significant. I would be inclined to find a good used body for cheap, see how you like it and then move up if you think you want to go all in. You can always resell a body and recoup a portion of what you spent (especially with used bodies).
  3. danska

danska Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2012
    Portland, OR