GX 80 automatically adjusting ISO in manual mode (even if limit is set)

NiklasG

New to Mu-43
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
3
Good evening,

i have the following problem. When in manual mode and recording video my camera seems to rise up my ISO unwanted. For example i set my ISO to 400 and my limit to 1600. My camera ignores all these settings and goes up until everything is "well" exposed. Often up to a value of 3200 or 6400 if shooting at night for example. All this happens when in M mode. If i use the M mode with the camera symbol next to it everything works just fine. When using custom modes though the problem is there again. Is this normal or am I experiencing some kind of bug?
 

Joris

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Feb 24, 2018
Messages
334
Location
Picardie, France
Welcome :) I think that what you need to do in custom mode, is set yet again your ISO to your preferred setting and then register that as well as all of your other preferences in which you want your custom mode to open : diaphragm, AF mode, display mode etc. etc. etc. to one of your three custom modes of your choice. This is done in the first option in the Custom menu : Custom Set Mem.
I hope that does it.
 
Last edited:

NiklasG

New to Mu-43
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
3
Thanks first for your fast reply! Unfortunately this is not what my problem is. I know how to safe settings and everything is set how it is supposed to be. Whats bothering me is that i adjust everything but as soon as i hit the record button my camera ignores my set ISO and the set ISO limit. This is not just in custom mode but in manual mode as well! I set everything to 800 but after hitting the record button ISO is at 3200
 

NiklasG

New to Mu-43
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
3
If this is too confusing i will upload a video tomorrow which will explain everything
 

Joris

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Feb 24, 2018
Messages
334
Location
Picardie, France
as soon as i hit the record button my camera ignores my set ISO and the set ISO limit. This is not just in custom mode but in manual mode as well!
Since I do not do video, certainly someone else will be more qualified to answer than I.
 

PeeBee

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Sep 17, 2012
Messages
1,447
Location
UK
If you start recording via the red button on the top plate with the mode dial in any position other than movie mode, it records in fully automatic mode, it’s a failsafe quickstart. With the mode dial set to Movie mode, you can manually set values for video exposure. I think, but I’m not sure, that the custom modes are for stills only.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom