Guess what? Another Newbie

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by snerkler, Apr 27, 2014.

1. snerkler

snerkler Mu-43 Regular

Apr 27, 2014
    Hi,

I am a relative newbie into the camera world, having only started learning photography 8 months ago. I'm happy with my progress so far, but have a LONG way to go. At present I have a Sony A77 which I'm very happy with, but I would like something a bit more compact to have with me all the time and have been looking at M4/3's, hence me being on here :) I'm not sure the next bit is the right place to post this, so if not please advise me where best to put it and I'll cut and paste it into the correct forum.

After researching what was best for me I settled on two cameras, the Olympus OMD EM10 and Panasonic GX7. I initially set my mind on the Olly as from looking at hundreds/thousands of photos on flickr I found that the Olly showed more detail (yes I know it's not the best way to analyse, but I think i I find an image that blows me away at least I know the camera is capable of this quality), and also downloading RAW test shots from DP review the GX7 RAW was a touch softer. Also, I think the EM10 looks really cool ;)

The shot that impressed me with the detail was this, looking at the texture of the skin etc. Granted it's with the EM5, but he EM10 is supposed to be on par if not slightly better.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/shark...fAQ-eq4xpH-mGT9gS-ihk2fk-ihkZR5-ejk6ve-f8gQsw