Grey Grad Filter vs Neutral Density Filters

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Julia, May 31, 2013.

1. Julia

Julia Mu-43 Regular

Mar 9, 2013
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Hi guys,

I'm having a bit of trouble understanding the benefits of a grey grad filter compared to a neutral density filter. I understand how they work, basically, and how they differ build-wise, but why would I go for a grad filter instead of an NDF?

I own a NDF and use it primarily for those water shots where I want a smooth surface or on the beach where the flowing water turns into mist around the pebbles.

My NDF is very strong and allows me up to 20-30 seconds of capture time even during the day with full sunlight.

Now, why would I need or prefer a grad filter in the same situation? I'm not a pro photographer, just an enthusiast and I wonder if the investment into an additional set of grad filters is worth it.

Would love your input.
  2. szanda

szanda Mu-43 Regular

Landscape shots, but today, grad filters aren't that needed anymore because of digital post-processing.
  3. Julia

Julia Mu-43 Regular

Mar 9, 2013
    Stuttgart, Germany

But wouldn't the grad filter allow me to darken the sky, for example, while allowing longer exposure of the ground without completely blowing out the sky? I know you can simulate grad filters, in Lightroom for example, but the image itself still wouldn't be as "nice" without the filter, right?

Just wondering why in this case a NDF filter wouldn't do the trick, too.
  4. vchaney

vchaney Mu-43 Regular

Sep 22, 2010
    The ND grad allows you to balance up the exposure not just darken the whole image. You would be able to get longer exposure of the ground without blowing the sky. With the ND filter you would need to PP the sky to darken it or lighten the grind to get a more balanced exposure.

Hope that helps.
  5. szanda

szanda Mu-43 Regular