Greetings

sunny16

New to Mu-43
Greetings,

MFT newbie here. I just ordered an Olympus E-M10 with the 14-42mm kit lens. I am a long time Pentaxian who started out with a Pentax MX film SLR and currently use a Pentax K5 DSLR. I mainly shoot family and friend portraits in available light. An Olympus XZ-1 is my digicam backup when I am too lazy to lug the DSLR.

The compactness and interchangeable lens features of the MFT gear have intrigued me for a while so I finally decided to take the plunge. I already have my eye on the Oly 25/1.8 as the next purchase (it's an addiction).

Excited about trying out the new camera.

Carbonman

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Graham
Enjoy your new camera and welcome to mu-43.com. I have an E-M10 myself and find it easy to use and get great results.
The 14-42 kit lens gets unfairly maligned but is actually quite decent. It's especially handy when you want to use the pop up E-M10 flash. Fat lenses like the 12-40 and 75 protrude into the flash light path, but the kit lens and a lot of the other compact lenses work well with the flash.

DeeJayK

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Keith
Welcome to the forum...love your username.

Not to steer you away from the Oly 25mm, but like Graham says, you should at least consider just using the very capable kit lens for a bit while you familiarize yourself with the new camera.

I'm curious as to whether you see the E-M10 as a replacement to your K5 or XZ-1 or just a third option that slots in between those two.

sunny16

New to Mu-43
Thanks for the warm welcome and tips. Yes I want to replace both the K5 and XZ-1 if can I learn to use the E-M10 well enough. The K5 is more camera than I need. Another point attracting me to MFT is that a 25mm lens gives a 50mm perspective without the cropped FOV. The 50/1.4 lens is pretty much bolted to the camera.

- Also in the recently sunny PNW.

DeeJayK

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Keith