Greetings from Istanbul

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by greg57, Aug 6, 2010.

1. greg57

greg57 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 6, 2010
    Istanbul
    Gregory Dziedzic
    Hi :)

I'm a French guy living in Istanbul for 6 years now. I started photography some 10 years ago in journalism school with a Pentax MZ-50, which, if not a great camera, was light and easy to use... I've been shooting pictures for work with digital SLR for a few years now but realized it's not the kind of gear I can easily hang around with. Missing street photography but refusing to walk around with an anvil around my neck, I've been keeping an eye on what was going on in the realm of small SLRs, but was not convinced... Then heard about micro 4 3, spent a few months investigating, pondering hesitating, and once month ago bought a complete GF1 kit with the 20mm pancake , the 14-45 zoom (which I nearly never use I have to say), the evf, a 16GB high speed sandisk...
    I love it. I'm doing B&W with it and intent to purchase an Epson 3880 as well for its purportedly exceptional B%W renderings...
    But I'm getting carried away (also received the dirty cheap SLR Magic 35mm 1:1.7 today, can't wait to try it!)

Looking forward to see you guys in the forum! :)

• Like Like x 6
  2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

Greg, thanks so much for your introduction - loved the image of you with an anvil around your neck! I don't think anyone on this site can ever get too carried away discussing their gear interests.:wink: But now that you've gotten your intro out of the way, I do hope you'll post some of your photographs soon.:biggrin:

• Like Like x 2
  3. greg57

greg57 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 6, 2010
    Istanbul
    Gregory Dziedzic
    For sure I will! Just gimme time to go to (tomorrow morning) and come back from holidays :wink:

4. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

How exciting! We'll be here waiting, Greg.:wink:

5. hanzo

hanzo Mu-43 Veteran Charter Member