1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Good first lens for OMD

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by oschebell, May 21, 2013.

1. oschebell

oschebell New to Mu-43

May 21, 2013
    hi guys, new to the forum and recently picked up a silver omd em5 with the 14-42mm kit lens. I am a professional photographer and have always used canon, I purchased the OMD as a backup to my main and for timelapse work. However since purchasing I am beginning to become intrigued by this camera as a walk around camera instead of my hefty 1ds3 yet the IQ is pretty dismal and as of yet I cannot tell first hand if it is the lens of the camera. Reviews say the sensor is pretty amazing so I'm curious as to a good piece of glass to start out with. I don't need to build an arsenal of lenses for it for professional work but I wouldnt mind doing it just for fun!

I have no experience with 4/3 or u4/3 so I dont know where to start. For the veterans, if you had your time again what would be your first lens in terms of sheer IQ or joy in using.
    Thanks everyone!

2. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    I dont know how you define "IQ" - but dismal seems a bit harsh even with the kit lens.

as for lenses to consider - well it depends on what you want to shoot.

Personally I like the primes - 20, 25, 45 and 75

K

3. Anthon

Anthon Mu-43 Regular

Dec 8, 2012
    Spain
    for walkaround, I think I would buy the 17mm f1.8

4. szanda

szanda Mu-43 Regular