Going to Hawaii/ Driving Road to Hana/ Asking for advice

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by xxjorelxx, Jul 14, 2016.

1. xxjorelxx

xxjorelxx Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 11, 2012
    MD, USA
    Hey all,
    Im going on vacation for Hawaii tomorrow and I'm a little torn on whether or not I should bring a long range zoom. This is my first time on the Hawaiian Islands and I will be spending 5 days on O'ahu and another 5 days on Maui. I know I will be bringing my Panasonic G7, P7-14 f4, P12-35 f2.8, & P35-100 f2.8. While i'm on Maui, I plan on driving the Road to Hana and would like to take some nature shots of birds/animals/wild life. I'm now debating if I should also bring my P100-300 F/4.0-5.6 or if it'll just be overkill. I like the idea of having the extra reach in case I find a need for it but the lens is bulky and heavy. I was hoping to ask for advice from anyone who knows Hawaii well, particularly the Road to Hana, and see if it's really worth bringing the lens. If I can get away with using the 35-100 as my main zoom then i'll just leave the 100-300 at home. Thanks in advance for any advice.
  2. Carbonman

Carbonman Mu-43 All-Pro

Jul 10, 2014
    Vancouver BC
    Don't drive the road to Hana; it's too twisty, narrow and has relatively few stopping places. You won't be able to get any or many pictures.